History created as Indian men’s and women’s cricket team clinch victory in Australia

The year 2016 would be marked in history by the cricket fraternity as both the men’s and women’s cricket team clinched the series wins at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG) on Friday.21-mithaliraj-india-captain-600

The men’s team clinched the series winning an unassailable 2-0 lead by beating the Australians by 27 runs in the second T20 international. On the other hand, the women’s team registered their first win in any format against the Australian women’s team. The team thrashed the host by a 10 wicket win in the second of the three series T20 format. The women’s team will play the host at Sydney on 31st January.

After being asked to bat first, the half centuries by Rohith Sharma and Virat Kohli served as anchors for the Indian team to post a score card of 184 for 3 wickets. Despite a formidable start by Aaron Finch, the Australians lost 8 wickets and managed only 157 runs.

Rohit Sharma has put up a superb performance during the ongoing tour. Setting an opening partnership with Shikhar Dhawan (42) and scoring 60 runs off 47 balls with five boundaries helped the team to get closer to victory.

The opening partnership of Sharma-Dhawan set a solid foundation for Virat to resume attack by scoring 59 runs in 33 balls that included seven boundaries and a six.

With India setting a formidable target, the hosts were off to a flying performance with stellar batting from Aaron Finch, with Shaun Marsh at the other end providing support, smashed 74 runs off 48 deliveries that included eight boundaries and a few sixes.

With the fall of Shaun Marsh’s wicket, the game took a turn. Chris Lynn and Glenn Maxwell were immediately packed by Hardik Pandya and Yuvraj Singh triggering the collapse of the batting order.

Before Finch and Shane Watson could re-build the batting order, a return catch off his bowling by Ravindra Jadeja in the 15th over hit the last nail in the match. Struggling with a cramped hamstring, Aaron Finch was run out in next over.

Among the bowlers, left arm spinner Ravindra Jadeja (2/32) and young pacer Jasprit Bumrah (2/37) put up an impressive performance.

In the women’s game, though rains played spoil sport, Jhulan Goswami and Rajeshwari Gayakwad displayed effective bowling skills with the Australians posting 125 runs after losing 8 wickets in 18 overs. Harmanpreet Kaur and Poonam Yadav picked up a wicket each.

Meg Lanning, the Australian captain scored the highest runs (49) while Jess Jonassen also put up a good performance.

The Indian side followed up with a good chase by opening pair Mithali Raj and Smriti Mandhana. The visitors put up a score of 52 runs for no loss till the rains held up the game by the eighth over.  Post rains, with an adjusted score of only 14 runs required winning by the Duckworth/Lewis method, the Indian side clinched victory with 5 balls to spare. Mithali scored 37 off 32 deliveries that included six boundaries while Mandanna hit three boundaries and not out at 22.