Bypolls for 12 assembly seats on February 13


The election commision on Tuesday announced bypoll election in 12 assembly constituencies across 8 states -UP, Karnataka, Punjab, Maharashtra, Telangana,Bihar, Madhya Pradesh and Tripura- on February 13.

In UP, Muzzaffarnagar, Deoband and Bikapur constituencies will undergo elections while in Karnataka, Devadurga, Bidar and Hebbal will go for elections.

All the three seats in UP were held by Samajwadi party. Bidar and Hebbal in Karnataka was ruled by BJP and Devadurga is Congress’s constituency.

Narayankhed in Telangana, ­Maihar in Madhya Pradesh, Palghar in Maharashtra, ­Khadoor Sahib in Punjab, ­Harlakhee in Bihar and ­Amarpur in Tripura are the other constituencies.

Khadoor Sahib, Narayankhed and Maihar was held by Congress MLAs while Harlakhee in Bihar is held by RLSP. Vacancy in Tripura’s Amarpur is created after CPM’s expulsion of its own MLA.

The bypoll in Palghar, a constituency previously held by Shivsena, was pending since last june due to an election petition in the court.

Palghar and Devadurga constituencies are reserved for Scheduled tribe candidates.

The date of issue of gazette notification is Wednesday,  20 January. As per the official statement, January 27 is the last date for filing nomination papers. The scrutiny of the nomination papers will take place on 28 January and the last date of withdrawal of candidature will be on 30 January.