Our government’s objective is to provide stability: CM Kalikho Pul

Khaliko Pul

Itanagar: Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Kalikho Pul after a combined Congress-BJP government was sworn in late on Friday following 24 days of president`s rule. The new CM also stated his commitment to providing stability.

The swearing in comes after the Supreme Court on Thursday had cleared the air for the revocation of president’s rule in the state. The Supreme court had vacated its order of maintaining status quo on Wednesday

“We are committed to providing stability and working for the overall development of Arunachal Pradesh with utmost sincerity,”┬ásaid CM Kalikho Pul

The oath was administered by Governor J P Rajkhowa to the 47-year-old Chief Minister at the Raj Bhavan. The oath taking ceremony marked the historic coalition government between Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party.

Out of the 60 member assembly, the BJP has 11 members and is providing outside support to the Congress government. Two independent legislators are also providing support to the 19 rebel Congress legislators.

However, Congress general secretary in-charge V. Narayanasamy described the formation of the new government as “highly illegal” and “unconstitutional” since Pul had not been elected as leader of the Congress Legislature Party.

“This political development in Arunachal Pradesh has proven that the BJP government was involved in destabilising the Congress government which has the mandate of the people,” said V Narayanaswamy, Congress General Secretary in-charge. He also added that “The Congress cannot take the support of the BJP in forming a government. We don`t subscribe to the BJP`s ideology and therefore, the new government cannot be a Congress government.”

“It was Congress leader Narayanasamy, in-charge of party affairs in the state, who is responsible for the political mess in the state. He never allowed us to meet and share our grievances with Congress president and vice-president,” said Pasang Dorjee Sona, belonging to the rebel congress legislators.