Members of ABVP JNU Unit quit protesting Government handling of students


New Delhi: Three office-bearers of JNU unit of ABVP today resigned from the student wing of the BJP strongly protesting against the Centre’s handling of the raging row at the premier university and “legitimising” actions of right wing fascist forces.

Pradeep Narwal, Joint Secretary of JNU unit of ABVP, said he has quit the party. Rahul Yadav, President of ABVP unit of JNU’s School of Social Sciences (SSS) and its Secretary Ankit Hans have also said they have quit.

In a joint statement, the three leaders said they have decided to quit ABVP as they have serious differences over the way the NDA government was handling the issue.

“We are resigning from ABVP and disassociating ourselves from any further activity of the party as per our difference of opinion over the current JNU incident and long-standing difference of opinion with MANUSMIRITI (Smriti Irani) and Rohith Vermula incident.

“Anti-national slogans on February 9 in university campus were very unfortunate and heart breaking. Whosoever responsible for that act must be punished as per the law but the way NDA government is tackling the whole issue, the oppression on professors, repeated attacks on media by lawyers and Kanhaiya Kumar in court premises (today) is unjustifiable,” the statement said.

The three students further said, “We think there is a difference between interrogation and crushing ideology and branding entire left as anti-national. We cannot be mouthpiece of such a government which has unleashed oppression on student community. They also said, “Every day we see people assemble at front gate with Indian Flag to beat JNU student, well this is hooliganism not nationalism, you can t do anything in the name of nation, there is a difference between nationalism and hooliganism.”