Presidential elections in Myanmar.


Myanmar: Myanmar’s union parliament on Monday announced March 17 as the date for three groups of the union parliament representatives to nominate their respective candidates for presidential run.

The new government would take power in Nay Pyi Taw on Monday, 10 days after the old government has come down.

The last date to nominate the candidates for the presidential elections has been declared by the Myanmar’s union parliament for the three groups of the parliament. The representatives are required to nominate heir candidate by March 17th. The three candidates are to be elected from Lower House ( group of elected house of representatives), Upper House (group of elected house of nationalities) and the group of military-nominated representatives. The general elections ended in Myanmar by November 8th, 2015. The election was taken over by Aung San Suu Kyi leader of National League for Democracy (NLD) with absolute majority.

A total of 648 members attended the first union parliament session which was chaired by U Mann Win Khaing Than of NLD holding the post of speaker of the House of Nationalities (Upper House) as well.

The new government has already started its governance, which had U Win Myint of NLD as speaker of the Lower House, supported by U Ti Khun Myat as deputy speaker of the House belonging to the Union Solidarity and Development Party (USDP). The speaker of the Upper House is  U Mann Win Khaing Than of NLD (National League for Democracy) supported by U Aye Tha Aung as deputy speaker belonging to the Arakan National Party (ANP).