Rahul Gandhi, D. Raja, Kejriwal Among 9 Booked for Sedition in JNU Row


Based on a complaint filed by a lawyer Janardhan Goud of Hyderabad, an FIR has been registered against Congress vice president Rahul Gandhi, Delhi chief minister Arvind Kejriwal, CPI(M) general secretary Sitaram Yechury, Congress leaders Anand Sharma and Ajay Maken, CPI leader D Raja, JD(U) spokesperson KC Tyagi, JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar and JNU research scholar Umar Khalid. They have been booked on sedition charges in connection with the JNU row, police said on Sunday evening.

“It is a court-referred matter. Following the court’s directive, a case under section 124A of the IPC (sedition) has been registered on Saturday against nine persons, including Rahul Gandhi, Arvind Kejriwal, Sitaram Yechury, JNUSU president Kanhaiya Kumar and others,” Saroornagar police station Inspector S Lingaiah said.

In his petition, Goud said Rahul and other leaders, despite being aware that Delhi Police had registered a case against Kanhaiya on charge of sedition had visited JNU campus and knowingly supported him and hence it “amounted to sedition”.

He also says that , he has every right to question those who are indulging in “anti-national activities and also those who are encouraging anti-nationals in the name of solidarity for those who are facing criminal charges under section 124(A) of IPC.”

Goud had filed a complaint in the court of metropolitan magistrate on Thursday, seeking its direction to police for registration of a case against Kanhaiya and Khalid for allegedly raising anti-India and pro-Afzal Guru slogans on JNU campus and others.

Kanhaiya and Khalid, who have earlier been arrested in Delhi on sedition charge, have also been booked in Hyderabad on the same charge. The court has posted the matter for hearing on March 4.