EC cracks whip, removes 38 officials in poll bound West Bengal

Election Commission of india

Election Commission of india

Election commission  has in its order removed 38 officials from election duty in the poll bound West Bengal. Removed officials include five Superintendents of Police and two District Magistrates. An IPS official, Bharati Ghosh was the last one to get removed by EC. Ghosh, SP of West Midnapur district had been on the special duty in LWE (Left Wing Extremism) area. She was removed following the complaints from the opposition parties. 37 officials were removed by EC to days before Ghosh was removed.

Hooghly District Magistrate Sanjay Bansal, Burdwan SP Kunal Agarwal, Malda SP Prasum Bandyopadhyay and Nadia SP Bhaskar were among the 37 officials the EC had removed earlier. Chief Secretary Basudeb Banerjee says that he has received the order from EC to remove 38 officials from election duty.

Gourav Sharma in Burdwan, Waqar Raja in Malda, Sisram Jhajhoria in Nadia and Rashid Munir Khan in South Dinajpur district were the other four SPs removed by the election commission. The two District Election Officers of Kolkata South and North were also removed earlier.