Women’s WT20 semi-final; New Zealand opt to bowl against Windies


New Zealand skipper Suzie Bates won the toss and decided to bowl in the second semi-final of the Women’s World Twenty20 at the Wankhede Stadium.

New Zealand squad: Suzie Bates (captain), Rachel Priest, Sophie Devine, Sara McGlashan, Amy Satterthwaite, Katey Martin, Katie Perkins, Leigh Kasperek, Erin Bermingham, Lea Tahuhu, Morna Nielsen.

West Indies squad: Stafanie Taylor (captain), Hayley Matthews, Shaquana Quintyne, Deandra Dottin, Merissa Aguilleira, Britney Cooper, Stacy-Ann King, Shemaine Campbelle, Anisa Mohammed, Afy Fletcher, Shamilia Connell.

The second semi-final match winning team will face Australia in the finals on April 3 at Eden Gardens. Australia entered the finals by beating England by 5 runs.