Attack on Bipin Chandra's book part of larger agenda says scholars

In recent days it seems to have become a habit of some latter-day “nationalists” to raise divisive or non-substantial issues to parade their...

Attack on Bipin Chandra


In recent days it seems to have become a habit of some latter-day “nationalists” to raise divisive or non-substantial issues to parade their patriotism. The most recent example of this is the attack on a major history of our National Movement authored by the distinguished historian Professor Bipan Chandra and his colleagues, titled India’s Struggle for Independence, published 28 years ago in 1988.

The objection is that Shaheed Bhagat Singh and his comrades have been described there as “revolutionary terrorists”. The critics, however, forget that this was really a term the martyrs had practically used for themselves. The Hindustan Socialist Republican Association, to which Bhagat Singh and his colleagues belonged, said in its Manifesto (1929): “We have been taken to task for our terrorist policy. No doubt, the revolutionaries think and rightly that it is only by resorting to terrorism that they can find a most effective means of retaliation… Terrorism has its international aspect also. England’s enemies, which are many, are drawn towards us by effective demonstration of our strength. That in itself is a great advantage”. To Gandhiji’s critical article ‘Cult of the Bomb’, the Association answered through a statement titled “Philosophy of the Bomb”. Here it was asserted that it was owing to British repression that “terrorism [has] been born in this country. It is a phase, a necessary and inevitable phase of the revolution. Terrorism is not the complete revolution, and the revolution is not complete without terrorism”.

It is true that in his later phase Bhagat Singh stated: “Apparently, I have acted like a terrorist; But I am not a terrorist”. Clearly, two definitions of the word ‘terror’ were already at work, and Bhagat Singh was being influenced by his reading of Lenin’s teachings against individual terror. But the main point is that the entire movement to which Shaheed Bhagat Singh belonged, terror had till then seemed a revolutionary path that they were wholly committed to.

Their conception of “terror” as a method of revolutionary action actually derived from a tradition that went back to the Russian revolutionaries’ struggle against Czarist tyranny. Now, however, in the last two or three decades, terror has come to mean almost all over the world the killing of innocent men, women and children. And it has thus assumed a heavily pejorative sense, not necessarily borne by it in the 1920s and 1930s.

Clearly, today many of us would not like to call our national heroes Bhagat Singh or Surya Sen or Chandrasekhar Azad, “terrorists”. But if we claim to be nationalists we should at least know more about our National Movement and not forget that there was a time when this tag was borne with pride by people who actually died for the cause of this country. And so let us not go about demanding changes in books, or banning them altogether and so display our own ignorance to the world. The withdrawal of the translation of the book by the Delhi University and the hounding of the authors on TV shows and at law courts that has now begun is particularly odious and only too characteristic of such campaigns by the RSS and its various fronts.
Irfan Habib Romila Thapar Amar Farooqui Arjun Dev

B.P.Sahu Biswamoy Pati D N Jha
Iqtidar Alam Khan K M Shrimali Lata Singh
Prabhat Shukla R C Thakran Shireen Moosvi
Suvira Jaiswal Vishwamohan Jha
Gopinath R P Bahuguna K L Tuteja
Rajesh Singh Kesavan Veluthat A K Sinha
Santosh Rai Shalin Jain H C Satyarthi
V Ramakrishna Ramakrishna Chatterjee Arun Bandopadhyaya
S Z Jafri Vivan Sundaram Prabhat Patnaik
Mushirul Hasan Mihir bhattacharya Sashi Kumar

Ram Rahman Sukumar Murlidharan Anil Bhatti
Anuradha Kapur Archana Prasad Badri Raina
C P Chandrasekhar Geeta Kapur
Indira Chandrasekhar Jatati Ghosh M KRaina
Madangopal Singh Madhu Prasad Malini Bhattacharya
Moloyshree Hashmi N K Sharma Nilima Sheikh
Nina Rao Parthiv Shah Praveen Jha
Rahul Verma S Kalidas Saeed MIrza
Saif Mahmood Shakti Kak Sohail Hashmi
Javed Ari Sitas Thierry Costanzo

Veer Munshi Vikas Rawal Indira Arjun Dev
S Irfan Habib Shireen Gandhy Rajat Datta
Mukul Kesavan Zoya Hasan Tadd Fernee
Shantha Sinha C P Bhambri Rahul Mukherji
Krishna Ananth Chandi Prasad Nanda Shri Krishna
Pritish Acharya Neerja Singh Najaf Haidar
Bhupendra Yadav Richa Malhotra Richa Raj
Deepa Sinha Amit Mishra Rashmi
Rizwan Qaiser Bodh Prakash Himangshu
Rakesh Batabyal Mahalakshmi Saurabh Bajpai

Ranjana Das J V Naik Ajay Patnaik
Subodh Malakar
Girish Mishra
Archana Hande
Neeladri Bhattacharya
Ania Loomba P. Bilimale
Sujoy Ghosh G. Arunima
Ayesha Kidwai
Syed Ali Nadeem Rezavi Jawaid Akhtar Ishrat Alam Ruquiya K Husain Ramesh Rawat