Live IPL 2016 Mumbai vs Bangalore: Virat Kohli and AB De Villiers out in the same over

IPL logo

IPL logo

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma won the toss and decided to field against Royal Challengers Bangalore in an Indian Premier League (IPL) match at the Wankhede Stadium here on Wednesday. The score as of now is Royal Challengers Bangalore 170-7 in 20 overs, with the top scorers being Virat Kohli (33 off 30 balls) and Australian Travis Head (37 off 24 balls). Both Kohli and De Villiers were dismissed in the same over by K Pandya.  The absence of star batsman Chris Gayle who was on paternity leave was sorely felt at the top of the batting line-up. Chris Gayle became the proud father of a son. Sarfaraz Khan and Travis Head steadied the Bangalore ship after the top order batsmen failed to fire.

Bangalore made five changes to their side. Stuart Binny came in for Parveez Rasool, Travis Head for Chris Gayle, Kane Richardson for David Wiese, Iqbal Abdulla for Yuzvendra Chahal and Varun Aaron for Sreenath Aravind.

Martin Guptill was replaced by all-rounder Kieron Pollard in Mumbai team.

The match is being played at the Wankhede stadium in Mumbai which is considered to be a batting paradise. Usually the team batting second has found success on this field. Chasing down totals has been easier on this ground compared to others.

Kunal Pandya and Bumrah were the pick of the bowlers with their respective figures of 2-27 and 3-31. Mumbai Indians has been searching for a win after three continuous losses. They have lost 3 of their 4 matches that they’ve played till now. Mumbai Indians need 171 of their 20 overs.

The teams:

Mumbai Indians: Rohit Sharma (captain), Parthiv Patel, Jos Buttler, Ambati Rayudu, Kieron Pollard, Hardik Pandya, Harbhajan Singh, Mitchell McClenaghan, Krunal Pandya, Tim Southee, Jasprit Bumrah.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: Virat Kohli (captain), Travis Head, Abraham De Villiers, Shane Watson, Kedar Jadhav, Sarfraz Khan, Kane Richardson, Harshal Patel, Stuart Binny, Varun Aaron and Iqbal Abdulla.