Kaka, Neymar axed as Coach Dunga announces Brazil squad for Copa America

Brazil national coach heavily relying on youngsters as he left out experienced players such as Kaka, Neymar, David Luiz and Marcelo

Kaka, Neymar axed as Coach Dunga announces Brazil squad for Copa America

Brazil's national team coach Dunga  announced the final list of 23 players that will play in the 2016 Centennial Copa America in the US from 3-23 June and the list does not feature names of veteran midfielder Kaka and Barcelona star Neymar.

The final 23 came from a shortlist of 40 names released last week, which does not include  Kaka, who currently plays in the US and gives preference to players who are younger than 23-years-old.

This has been seen as a preparation tactic for the upcoming Olympic Games 2016 which will take place in Rio de Janiero, Brazil, throughout August where Brazil will be looking to win their first gold medal.

Other notable emissions from the squad are Oscar of Chelsea, Liverpool's Roberto Firmino, PSG's defensive duo of Thiago Silva and David Luiz, Marcelo of Real Madrid.

Even though new players have been incorporated into the team, Dunga has kept his main players from recent teamsheets.

However, Barcelona star Neymar will not participate in the competition as he can only participate in one international tournament per year in line with Barcelona's conditions and the national coach has decided to use Neymar in the Olympics instead.

Brazil are in Group B with Ecuador, Haiti and Peru and start their campaign on 4 June against Ecuador in Pasadena, California. The competition, which is celebrating its centenary, will take place for the first time outside South America.

Brazil squad:

Goalkeepers: Alisson (Internacional), Diego Alves (Valencia), Ederson (Benfica).

Defenders: Daniel Alves (Barcelona), Fabinho (Monaco), Filipe Luís (Atlético Madrid), Douglas Santos (Atlético Mineiro), Miranda (Internazionale), Gil (Shandong Luneng), Marquinhos (Paris Saint-Germain), Rodrigo Caio (São Paulo).

Midfielders: Luiz Gustavo (Wolfsburg), Elias (Corinthians), Casemiro (Real Madrid), Rafinha (Barcelona), Renato Augusto (Beijing Guoan), Philippe Coutinho (Liverpool), Lucas Lima (Santos), Willian (Chelsea).

Forwards: Douglas Costa (Bayern Munich), Hulk (Zenit), Ricardo Oliveira (Santos), Gabriel (Santos).