×

Why You Should Always Log Out Of Facebook When Watching Porn

This includes information about the websites and apps you visit, your use of our Services on those websites and apps, as well as information the developer or publisher of the app or website provides to you or us."

Creepy as it sounds, Facebook will track you if you’re logged in.  If you find yourself on a porn site (or any site) with a Facebook plug-in button, like a like or share button, they will be tracking your behavior.

Seven years ago, we were promised that the like and share buttons would not be used to track people.  This has changed.

In 2011, the site publicly stated “no information we receive when you see social plugins is used to target ads; we delete this information within 90 days, and we never sell your information.”  They’ve gone back on their word and now, instead of only tracking you if you click the like or share button, they will track you if one of those buttons is on the site you’re at, regardless of your behavior.

Their new privacy policy says,

“We collect information when you visit or use third-party websites and apps that use our Services (like when they offer our Like button or Facebook Log In or use our measurement and advertising services).

This includes information about the websites and apps you visit, your use of our Services on those websites and apps, as well as information the developer or publisher of the app or website provides to you or us.”

It’s disturbing that a company can change position so quickly. Another reason why not to consolidate power; if someone new takes over as CEO they can change the policies and abuse the power.

#MINDS

Top