BSP workers call off protest after police assure of Daya Shankar’s arrest

On Wednesday, Daya Shankar Singh had said Mayawati is shattering Kanshi Ram's dreams by selling tickets like a prostitute

On getting assurance from the police of the arrest of BJP leader Daya Shankar Singh within the next 36 hours for his remark against BSP chief Mayawati, BSP supporters on Thursday afternoon called off their agitation in Lucknow.

Earlier in the day, the irate party workers reportedly broke police barricades and raised slogans against the BJP in front of Ambedkar statue at Hazratganj in Lucknow.

On Wednesday, Daya Shankar Singh had said Mayawati is shattering Kanshi Ram’s dreams by selling tickets like a prostitute.

“Mayawati gives tickets for Rs 1 crore and if there is someone who can give Rs 2 crore, then she sells it for Rs 2 crore within an hour. If someone is ready to give Rs 3 crore by the evening, she gives the ticket to him. She is even worse than a prostitute,” he said.

Lucknow’s District Magistrate Raj Shekhar met the agitated party workers and leaders and told them the police was on the lookout for Daya Shankar Singh after an FIR was lodged against him late on Wednesday night at the Hazratganj police station.

After a categorical and time-bound assurance by the authorities, BSP leader Naseemuddin Siddiqui called off the agitation.

The police conducted searches at about a dozen places to nab Daya Shankar Singh, but met with no success.

Sources say Singh is holed up in eastern Uttar Pradesh.

Following the outrage over the statement, the BJP expelled Singh from the party for six years in a late night development.

Earlier, hundreds and thousands of BSP workers on Thursday took to the streets here to protest against Singh’s comments about Mayawati.

The protesters threw traffic out of gear in Hazratganj, giving anxious moments to the district administration, police officers and those controlling traffic.

State BSP president Raj Achal Rajbhar said Singh’s statement had revealed the “anti-Dalit mentality” of the Bharatiya Janata Party.