SC orders six former UP CMs to vacate govt. bungalows within 2 months

The bungalows are located on Lucknow's posh Mall Road and Vikramaditya Marg
Supreme Court, Apex Court, Top Court

The Supreme Court on Monday orders six former chief ministers of Uttar Pradesh to vacate the accommodations provided to them by the state government within 2 months.

The six former chief ministers of the state are: Kalyan Singh, Rajnath Singh, Mulayam Singh Yadav, Mayawati, Narayan Dutt Tiwari and Ram Naresh Yadav.

A bench headed by Justice Anil R. Dave said the former Chief Ministers have no right to occupy the premises which they must vacate.

The bungalows occupied by the former Chief Ministers are located on Lucknow’s posh Mall Road and Vikramaditya Marg.

The top court order came on a petition by NGO Lok Prahari challenging the validity of 1997 Ex-Chief Minister Allotment of Residence Rule.

Lok Prahari contended that that the rule was without statutory basis and in breach of Uttar Pradesh Minister Salaries, Allowances and other Facilities Act, 1981.