Left-dalit coalition sweeps UoH students union election

SFI-led United Front for Social Justice (UFSJ) swept the polls by winning all six posts in the students union election

Left-dalit coalition sweeps UoH students union election

In the first students’ union election held in University of Hyderabad after the tragic demise of Rohith Vemula, SFI-led United Front for Social Justice (UFSJ) swept the polls by winning all six posts.

The UFSJ consists of the Students’ Federation of India (SFI), Dalit Students’ Union (DSU), Tribal Students’ Forum (TSF), Bahujan Students’ Front (BSF) and Telangana Vidyarthi Vedika (TVV).

Kuldeep Singh Nagi of UFSJ won the post of president by securing 1406 votes against Gopal Krishna of AVBP-led coalition, who secured 1,354 votes.

hyderabad university electionOther candidates won in the union election include: Bukya Sunder- vice-president, Suman Damera - General Secretary, P. Vijay Kumar-Joint Secretary, Nakhrai Debarma- Cultural Secretary and Ushnish Das- Sports Secretary.

“Students of HCU have once again stood with the alliance of left and dalit organisations. We went in to this elections carrying forward the spirit of ‘Justice for Rohith’ movement and I believe it's the victory of this very idea of social justice as against the communal and vindictive politics of Sangh Parivar and ABVP,” says Kuldeep Singh Nagi.

Held on 28th September at the University of Hyderabad campus amidst tight security, the student union election 2016-17 saw 3,849 students turning up to cast their votes.

Besides UFSJ and ABVP-OBCA coalition, two other two major outfits participated in the election were Ambedakar Student’s Association (ASA), the organization in which Rohit was an active member and National Students' Union of India (NSUI).

However, both the parties nominated its candidate only for limited posts. ASA nominated Vijay Kumar, one of the socially boycotted students along with Rohith Vemula to the post of President, while NSUI contested for the posts of Vice-president and General Secretary.

Earlier this month, the left alliance had won all the four seats in Jawaharlal Nehru University Students’ Union (JNUSU) elections.