Monday, September 19th, 2016

Most important iOS10 privacy settings everyone should double check

Narada Desk | September 19, 2016 6:58 pm Print
Making click to unlock as default on all devices makes zero sense. 6S and older devices have mechanical home button compared to haptic button on latest devices. On older devices the new way of unlocking only increases the chance of home button failures. And the setting to enable the touch to unlock is hidden all the way inside Accessibility which again makes no sense.

The latest iOS version incorporates many new features and upgrades. Same time users need to be more careful while using this update because of its latest updated features. Even though the OS is very operational friendly, there is nothing wrong in making a double check on what you got before you shoot!

You need to be a free hand rider on your possession and make it work with out any risk for your life. So lets have a double check on this settings before you do it again!mO

Show Parked Location

To start, head to the Maps entry in Settings, then scroll down towards the bottom of the next menu. From here, disable the Show Parked Location entry, and from now on, you’ll just have to remember where you left your $30,000 possession.

Share My Location

The Find My Friends feature in iOS helps you keep track of loved ones—but, of course, this is a two-way street, so they can track you as well. If you’re not comfortable with that, or if you’re worried that someone might secretly track your iPhone’s location, there’s an easy fix. Just head to Settings -> Privacy -> Share My Location, then disable the switch at the top of the screen. When you’ve done that, your location won’t be shared with anyone.

Lock Screen Widgets

On the surface, this new feature is all positives. But anyone can see these widgets by simply waking your phone, as no password is needed to access this menu. On top of that, the widgets can display sensitive information, and someone looking over your shoulder could learn more about you than you’d like them to know.

To fix these issues, you could simply scroll down to the bottom of the lock screen widgets menu and tap the “Edit” button, then selectively disable individual widgets that might show sensitive information—but that removes them device-wide, not just on the lock screen

Passwords (Safari)

Safari will offer to save passwords you’ve entered into websites, which is a handy feature, but also potentially dangerous. If someone were to bypass your lock screen, they could easily use these saved passwords to log into your bank’s website, for instance.

So to manage these, head to Settings -> Safari -> Passwords. From here, tap the Edit button at the top of the screen, then select any sites with saved passwords that you’d like to remove. Finally, press the Delete button to get rid of these saved passwords for good.

Camera Access

Apps like Snapchat and Instagram obviously need access to your iPhone’s camera for their core functionality, but not every app on your phone should have this privilege. So every now and then, you should take the time to visit the Settings -> Privacy -> Camera to see which apps can see you. From here, if you find an app that doesn’t belong, simply disable the switch next to it, and the app will no longer be able to access your camera.

Recently Deleted Photos

From a privacy standpoint, the fact that the Photos app saves deleted pictures for 30 days can be a big problem. If you deleted a sensitive image, someone else could still find it in your Recently Deleted folder. This means that if you want to erase an image for good, you’ll have to delete it from the regular Camera Roll in Photos, then head to the Albums tab and delete it again from the Recently Deleted album.

Loading...