India’s ODI squad for NZ series selected; Raina, Mishra make comeback

Senior players including R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami were given a break this time

India’s ODI squad for NZ series selected; Raina, Mishra make comeback

Suresh Raina and Amit Mishra have made a comeback for the first three ODI of the five-match series against New Zealand, while the selection committee allowed R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami to rest.

Replacing senior players, youngsters like Hardik Pandya, Jayant Yadav, Axar Patel and Dhawal Kulkarni have been picked up for the series.

Commenting on Raina’s comeback, chairman of selectors MSK Prasad said: “We gave Raina a break during the Zimbabwe tour. But with Jadeja, Ashwin and Shami rested, we needed some experience. Although it’s a short term solution.”

“While selecting Raina, apart from his batting experience, we also considered his bowling. He has scored runs in Duleep Trophy.”

Both Raina and Mishra last represented the national team in October 2015 against South Africa and were side-lined for the Australia or Zimbabwe tours this year.

Senior players were given a break this time are expected to play in the upcoming Test series against England and Australia.

”We spoke to the team management and the decision was taken. We have another 10 Test matches to play and we need to look at their workloads,” MSK Prasad said.

This was the first national cricket team picked by the new selection panel that chosen during the BCCI's annual general meeting recently.

Players like KL Rahul, Shikar Dhawan and Bhuvaneshwar Kumar, who are suffering from injuries, were not considered for the first three ODIs. However, Veteran batsman Yuvraj Singh,who was rested for Zimbabwe tour, has been ignored by the panel.

The first three matches in the series are expected to be held on October 16 at Dharamsala, October 23 at Mohali and October 29 at Visakhapatnam respectively.

The squad: Mahendra Singh Dhoni(Capt), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Virat Kohli, Manish Pandey, Suresh Raina, Hardik Pandya, Axar Patel, Jayant Yadav, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Dhawal Kulkarni, Umesh Yadav, Mandeep Singh, Kedar Jadhav.