Faf du Plessis fined but not banned after being found guilty of ball tampering
It was seen that Du Plessis applied saliva to the ball with a lolly in his mouth during the match in Hobart.
In a sigh of relief to South Africa skipper Faf du Plessis, he will be playing the day-night Test despite being found guilty of ball tampering for the second time in just over three years. He has been fined, but not banned following the charge.
Reportedly, Du Plessis was fined 100 per cent of his match fee after a three-hour International Cricket Council (ICC) hearing at Adelaide Oval. It has been reported that he was found guilty of ball tampering under the clause 2.2.9 of the ICC’s code of conduct.
This comes as a result of footage which emerged last week from the second Test of South Africa versus Australia. It was seen that Du Plessis applied saliva to the ball with a lolly in his mouth during the match in Hobart.
It is to be noted that Du Plessis was found guilty of ball tampering in 2013, when he breached the ICC’s code of conduct by rubbing the ball on the zipper of a trouser pocket during a Test against Pakistan.
However, according to the new ICC code of conduct adopted in September, the indiscretion in Hobart was treated as a first offence.
It has been reported that in addition to the fine, three demerit points were added to Du Plessis’s disciplinary record. If he reaches four or more demerit points within a 24-month period, they will be converted into suspension points and he will be banned. However, the offence was treated as a first offence.
Du Plessis, who pleaded not guilty, can appeal the verdict within 48 hours of match referee Andy Pycroft handing down his written decision.