Donald Trump shuts door on refugees, citizens of 7 Muslim countries

The seven countries that have been banned are Syria Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen, the White House said.

Donald Trump shuts door on refugees, citizens of 7 Muslim countries

US President Donald Trump on Friday shuts down the nation’s borders for four month to refugees from around the world, and temporarily suspended entry from Syria and 6 other Muslim-majority countries into the country, saying that the moves would help protect Americans from terrorist attacks.

With the order that families fleeing the slaughter in Syria be indefinitely blocked from entering the US, Trump's order limiting entry on visitors from Syria and six other Muslim-majority countries is for 90 days. The White House said the six other countries are: Iran, Iraq, Libya, Somalia, Sudan and Yemen.

Condemning the Trump's move dubbing it as discriminatory, civil rights group said they would strand refugees in dangerous places and would tarnish the reputation of the United States as a land welcoming of immigrants.

Speaking during a gathering at the Pentagon, Trump earlier said: "I'm establishing new vetting measures to keep radical Islamic terrorists out of the United States of America. Don't want them here."

"We only want to admit those into our country who will support our country and love deeply our people," he said.

Trump also directed officials to determine additional screening "to ensure that those approved for refugee admission do not pose a threat to the security and welfare of the United States.”