Trump's order could bar entry of 500,000 legal residents from entering US

If any citizen from any country traveled to the said 7 countries after the Trump's announcement, the citizen may also be barred from entering United States.


In what will be a huge setback to Muslims across the globe, President Donald Trump on Saturday closed the nation’s borders to refugees from around the world for 4 months, and blocked Syrian refugees from entering the United States indefinitely.

Not only these, Trump also temporarily barred citizens from Syria and 6 other Muslim-majority countries from entering the US, saying the moves would help protect Americans from terrorist attacks. Those countries are Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen.

“We don’t want them here. We want to ensure that we are not admitting into our country the very threats our soldiers are fighting overseas. We only want to admit those into our country who will support our country, and love deeply our people.”

Donald Trump

Trump's executive order:

  • About 25,000 citizens from the seven countries ▬ Iraq, Syria, Iran, Sudan, Libya, Somalia and Yemen ▬ have been issued student or employment visas in the past three years, according to Department of Homeland Security.

  • In the last ten years, almost 500,000 people from the seven countries were issued green cards allowing them to live and work in the United States indefinitely. But, after the Trump's announcement, fates of these citizens hang in balance, according to a report in

  • Over 250,000 green cards were issued to Iranian and Iraqi citizens in the past decade.

As the White House has not come out with a clarification on the exact meaning of the executive order, it is now unsure if they would actually be barred from re-entering the US if they have traveled abroad.

  • With 11,338 students admitted in 2014/15 and 12,269 students in 2015/16, Iran also has the 11th most students in the U.S. among foreign nations, according to the Institute of International Education's Open Doors report, which tracks the demographics of international students.

  • US admitted 36,722 refugees from Iraq, Iran, Syria, Yemen, Sudan, Somalia and Libya in fiscal 2016. According to a data provided by Refugee Processing Center, 43% of the refugees admitted into the US came from the seven countries.

  • At least 10,000 Syrian refugees had been pushed to resettle in US as part of humanitarian efforts in 2016, according to CNN report.

  • The United States, during Obama administration in fiscal 2016, admitted refugees from the seven countries: 9,880 from Iraq; 3,750 from Iran; 1 from Libya; 9,020 from Somalia; 12,587 from Syria; 1,458 from Sudan and 26 from Yemen.

  • If any citizen from any country traveled to the said 7 countries after the Trump's announcement, the citizen may also be barred from entering United States.